I feel so much more on top of things when I get up early. This morning I was up at 5:30am. Yes, I'm totally serious. I went to bed at 10pm, and got up at 5:30am. It took me a few minutes to wake up my brain, but once I did, I was off to the trails behind my house. I walked for about 25 minutes, listening to the Jillian Michael's Show via podcast, and finished with a light jog home. Nothing too strenuous right off the bat, I'm hoping to work up to being a runner. By the time I left for class at 8:30am this morning, I had posted my first blog (I keep four blogs, heh), got through some laundry, made breakfast, and got ready for my day. I feel accomplished!
I almost feel like I will jinx it if I explain, in too much detail, my new fitness plan. So for now let's just say I'm taking it easy on myself - it's a very low pressure plan =D
As for nutrition, I had kind of two breakfasts this morning, poptarts before my walk (if I don't eat first thing in the morning I get some serious shakes) and then an egg white/egg mix on whole grain toast with 1/2 an apple. I know that poptarts are processed foods, and therefore not the best choice. But in the grand scheme of things, I don't eat milk chocolate, soda, ice cream (often), pie, and most types of fatty meat. I try to avoid a lot of harmful chemicals, so I'm not cutting out the dang poptarts. Yet.
The other thing I wanted to address about my double breakfast was that studies actually show that consuming a high-calorie meal early in the day is much better than later on. So my dinner will be lighter than usual to balance out. Ever heard "Breakfast like a king, Lunch like a Prince, Dinner like a Pauper?" That's why!
Lunch was a "Summer Roll" made by the Japanese guys on campus. It's made with rice paper, veggies, and imitation crab. I had yogurt and a banana for my snack this afternoon, too! My sweet treat today was a Grande (translate: medium) pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks. No whipped cream ;-)
So far, it's a great week! I'm strength-training this afternoon, have a three-hour class tonight (sigh) and then I'll be back in bed by 10pm! Woot!
Until next time. xo

No comments:
Post a Comment